Close-up: One language in two weeks, but no ego or: Why is AI not explained in the ‘Sesame Street’?

4th December 2019 – Thomas Wilke from 42Cap interviewed Fabian Beringer, CEO e-bot7, about the internationalisation plans for our AI-based bot model, the development of AI in Europe, the war for German talent, fear of progress and risks, and his biggest mistakes.

 

We got to know e-bot7 CEO Fabian Beringer and his team in the course of our second fund. After their latest round of funding, I talked to him about the internationalization plans for the AI-based bot model, the development of AI in Europe, the war for German talent, fear of progress and risks, and his biggest mistakes. By the way, fittingly with Fabian’s insights, we shared our view on e-bot7: in our Why We Invested In series.

 

Thomas Wilke: You’ve just received 5.5 million in funding in your Series A round. Tell us what you plan to do with the money. And what was important to you for that round?

 

Fabian Beringer: It was important to us that we didn’t need the money to survive. That was the case in the Seed Round as well as in the recent Series A. Currently we have raised the capital to not only be a player in Germany and DACH, but to establish ourselves internationally. When raising funds, we also try to take the perspective of an investor, just as we do with our customers, asking ourselves what they want and what they see in us. It is important for us to know what somebody has in mind with our company. Do they have to sell their shares after three to five years, for example, in order to achieve their fund goals? With e-bot7, we don’t want to be just a number in a giant pool, we want to have partners who burn for our product and are there when we need them. As for the round before we also wanted investors who understand our situation. Often it is not the exact number in the report that counts, just as the share price cannot be meticulously predicted. In spite of all the measuring, it has to fit on a personal level.

 

Your internationalization is interesting, because your product can be used in countless industries, but the bot has to learn the language of the market. How quickly can you do this, and what range of conversation situations do your chatbots cover?

 

Our algorithms today able to learn a language within two weeks and even conduct more complex dialogues. We currently offer all European languages as well as Japanese. Right now we are focusing on expansion in Europe, and the US market will follow soon. Our AI technology covers everything from standard questions such as “How much does it cost?” to more complex questions such as complaints and damage claims. The product is therefore relevant for almost every customer contact, from betting providers to the automotive and travel industries to banks, insurers and financial service providers. It is live with Deutsche Bahn, Miele, Commerzbank and o2 — from external customer service to internal help desks. What is crucial is to know the individual pain points of a company or segment.

 

Your start after university was pragmatic and gave you a great advantage for product development. Strictly speaking, these were the workshops you held for companies.

 

Yes, Xaver and I worked on a bot application case in addition to our university exams and didn’t initially think of a start-up but rather of an agency business. We were exceptions at the University of Maastricht doing that already. Because the goal of 95 percent of the people there was to start at McKinsey & Co, alternatively in investment banking or in a highly remunerated corporate job. There were questions like ‘Do you see yourself more in supply chain management or consulting?’ Of course, these are exciting topics, but we wanted to take over and design more than just one area. As we got closer to graduation, Xaver and I sat together over a beer and said ‘Let’s start something’. Two days later on the train we read a tech article in which Facebook announced ‘We’re making bots now’. So we looked for a useful application case and started to build e-bot7 parallel to our exams. With our chatbot-workshops on Eventbrite we could cover our running costs, but most valuable to us was the insight into the problems and use cases in customer service departments of organizations. When it was clear to us which direction our product should go, we brought in Max, our co-founder and CTO. He built the first version of the product in a very short time. No one else could have done it like that.

 

“The user shouldn’t have to deal with AI.”

 

What convinced Alex and me was how you built your Agent+AI model. It supports employees from day one, learns from them and is thus also supervised. Can you describe the reasoning behind this approach?

 

The process to find the right answer is different in every company, as is the data and preparation time a company has to train an AI. Our product can be trained on data sets beforehand, as well as used for a cold start. By suggesting answers to employees and being corrected by human colleagues, the system can learn without making mistakes. This is because the bot can only respond independently if, for example, it is 97 percent certain. The larger idea behind this is a plug & play approach. Our platform can be integrated into any company landscape within four weeks, and the team can customize it individually in no time at all. I don’t need a data science team or a technical developer for this at all. The user should not have to deal with AI, but rather be able to use the solution immediately. Since very few companies are prepared for the topic of artificial intelligence, we wanted to enable a start without preparation.

 

There are also companies that believe in ‘Build it yourself’. You’ve always relied on your plug-and-play approach for pitches. Can share your experience on this matter?

 

We’ve always had contact with companies who wanted to build it themselves. But almost everyone of them called us again after the project had more or less gone up against the wall because it wasn’t as easy as they thought or because they ran out of resources. Conversely, in the beginning we often heard ‘This is not going to happen, the AI is not going to develop as quickly’. Then you need someone who believes in you. Our first customer o2 was someone like that. From then on and ever since, we have remained very close to each of our customers. Many start-ups are very focused on themselves and their product vision. We find it very important to work with customers as partners and get a lot of feedback. In our opinion, this is the only way to build the best product on the market.

 

“We have a huge problem in Germany because we don’t have Open Data Pools.”

 

Could you sketch out how you can advance your vision and what drives you in doing so?

 

In the US, a big vision is mandatory to get money at all. In Europe you are likely to be throttled with big goals. You need to defend your vision against such pushbacks and simply go on. The point, however, is that you must evaluate the vision precisely and reflect enough to know whether it is still coherent. As far as AI is concerned Germany is stuck in a mode of hesitation, not only compared to the US, but also to China. Unfortunately, there is some void for AI development and companies here in terms of data availability and public funding. There is still some change needed here!

 

You co-founded the Bundesverband für KI (Federal Association for AI) in 2018. In your opinion, what are the biggest hurdles in AI development and what are your goals?

 

In Germany we don’t only have too few start-ups, but also far too little funding from politics and a huge problem because we don’t have open data pools that we need for research and development. For example, if I want to train an AI in image recognition of diseases, I need a critical amount of images. With our bot product, you need a critical mass of customer service tickets to train also account for deviations. The algorithms have to, for example, understand confusing conversations, spelling mistakes and interspersed foreign words such as English or Turkish expressions in German. We are talking about valuable structural data, anonymized, so without a name.

 

The Bundesverband KI was founded last year to drive AI in Germany. We now have about 220 members, including startups, data scientists and AI experts. When making our selection, we pay great attention to a concrete AI focus. Today, many products have an AI label on them that shouldn’t.

 

“Germany is the free training ground for companies like Google, Amazon and Facebook.”

 

Why don’t you tell us about your experiences with large companies and corporations, besides your customers? How do they react to the topic of AI?

 

Many German companies often get stuck in the fear ‘AI cuts jobs’. Most medium-sized companies do not yet have an applicable AI strategy. The crazy thing is: Germany is partly the free training ground for companies such as Google, Amazon and Facebook. We, for example, would like to hire more German developers at e-bot7. The problem is: Many students who get a scholarship, e.g. for Stanford, just stay in the US and go to Google and Co. The goal must be to make Germany and Europe the leading AI ecosystem.

 

German Gründerszene has written about you that you educate between ‘Terminator or Utopia’. How do you see the situation between real dangers and fear of progress?

 

AI has long been omnipresent in our everyday lives, whether Spotify suggests something to me or my phone searches out all the pictures for the keyword café. At the same time, the dangers are clear, for example through surveillance via face recognition as in China or fake and masked applications like the FaceApp. In Europe, we need to establish criteria for transparency and standards in programming, data documentation, all these things. We have a chance in Europe and Germany, for example, to establish an ‘AI Made in Germany’. What we want to advance are companies that use AI for positive scenarios and according to our democratic beliefs. But what I see again and again at conferences is that horror scenarios sell well. Speakers take advantage of this and make a brand out of it. What we need, however, is clarification and education on the subject of artificial intelligence. In other words, why isn’t AI explained in the Sesame Street?

 

“You have to eliminate your ego completely.”

 

As an entrepreneur, leadership and self-conception are among the biggest personal topics. How do you deal with it?

 

During the growth phase, it is important to transfer both the presence in the markets as well as the corporate culture from HQ to these markets. At the same time, you have to have the best product. Here, a strong team is the be-all and end-all. People who have the right skills or can quickly adapt and acquire them. At the same time, people need to have the right mindset and have fun driving things forward. It is important as a founder and team member to remain down to earth at all times. You have to completely eliminate your ego. It’s not about egos, it’s about substance. If you just want to make a name for yourself, show that you are better, you are doing something wrong. It has to be about the cause and must not become personal. We are happy about every piece of advice and reflect a lot, but we also put ourselves in a different perspective. We want to enjoy our vision. That is the balancing act between ‘I am confident’ and ‘I remain realistic’. But fun is a good key. With fun hybris is out of question.

 

Which mistakes have you personally learned the most from?

 

I used to be doing projects in the music business. We released tracks and at some point we had a concept for an artist, including video and branding. Then we had a pretty good lead. But the contract partner wanted to use a YouTuber instead of a new, unknown artist. I didn’t like the idea and the whole thing came to nothing, which I regretted very much. That doesn’t sound like a spectacular mistake at first, but for me it was one of the most important learnings: Don’t run in circles on details. Because it’s only by doing stuff that you come to the point where you can realize your own vision.

 

The interview originally appeared on 42Cap / medium

Close-up: Eine Sprache in zwei Wochen, aber kein Ego oder: Warum wird KI nicht in der Sesamstraße erklärt?

4.12.2019 – Thomas Wilke von 42Cap interviewte Fabian Beringer, CEO von e-bot7, über die Internationalisierungspläne für unser KI-basiertes Bot-Modell, die Entwicklung der KI in Europa, den Krieg um deutsche Talente, Angst vor Fortschritt und Risiken und seine größten Fehler.

 

Wir haben Fabian Beringer, CEO von e-bot7 und sein Team im Rahmen unserer zweiten Finanzierung  kennengelernt. Nach der letzten Finanzierungsrunde sprach ich mit ihm über die Internationalisierungspläne für das KI-basierte Bot-Modell, die Entwicklung der KI in Europa, den Krieg um deutsche Talente, Angst vor Fortschritt und Risiken und seine größten Fehler. Übrigens, passend zu Fabians Erkenntnissen, haben wir unsere Sicht auf e-bot7 geteilt: in unserer Why We Invested In Series.

 

Thomas Wilke: Ihr habt gerade 5,5 Millionen Euro in der Series A-Runde erhalten. Erzählt uns, was Ihr mit dem Geld vorhabt. Und was war euch in dieser Runde besonders wichtig?

 

Fabian Beringer: Es war uns wichtig, dass wir das Geld nicht brauchen, um zu überleben. Das war sowohl in der Seed Round als auch in der jüngsten Serie A der Fall. Derzeit haben wir Kapital gesammelt, um nicht nur ein Akteur in Deutschland und DACH zu sein, sondern uns auch international zu etablieren. Bei der Finanzierungsrunde versuchen wir auch, die Perspektive eines Investors einzunehmen, so wie wir es mit unseren Kunden tun, indem wir uns fragen, was sie wollen und was sie in uns sehen. Es ist uns wichtig zu wissen, was jemand mit unserem Unternehmen vorhat. Müssen sie ihre Aktien nach drei bis fünf Jahren verkaufen, um beispielsweise ihre Fondsziele zu erreichen? Mit e-bot7 wollen wir nicht nur eine Nummer in einem riesigen Pool sein, wir wollen Partner haben, die für unser Produkt brennen und da sind, wenn wir sie brauchen. Wie in der vorherigen Runde wollten wir auch Investoren, die unsere Situation verstehen. Oftmals zählt nicht die genaue Zahl im Bericht, ebenso wenig wie der Aktienkurs nicht genau vorhergesagt werden kann. Trotz aller Messungen muss es auf der persönlichen Ebene passen.

 

Ihre Internationalisierung ist interessant, denn Ihr Produkt kann in unzähligen Branchen eingesetzt werden, aber der Bot muss die Sprache des Marktes lernen. Wie schnell kann der Bot lernen und welche Gesprächssituationen decken die Chatbots ab?

 

Unsere Algorithmen sind heute in der Lage, eine Sprache innerhalb von zwei Wochen zu erlernen und auch komplexere Dialoge zu führen. Wir bieten derzeit alle europäischen Sprachen sowie Japanisch an. Im Moment konzentrieren wir uns auf die Expansion in Europa und der US-Markt wird bald folgen. Unsere KI-Technologie reicht von Standardfragen wie “Wie viel kostet es” bis hin zu komplexeren Fragen wie Beschwerden und Schadensfällen. Damit ist das Produkt für nahezu jeden Kundenkontakt relevant, vom Wettanbieter über die Automobil- und Reiseindustrie bis hin zu Banken, Versicherungen und Finanzdienstleistern. Es ist live mit der Deutschen Bahn, Miele, der Commerzbank und o2 – vom externen Kundenservice bis zum internen Helpdesk. Entscheidend ist es, die einzelnen Pain Points eines Unternehmens oder einer Branche zu kennen.

 

Ihr Start nach dem Studium war pragmatisch und brachte Ihnen einen großen Vorteil bei der Produktentwicklung. Genau genommen waren dies die Workshops, die Sie für Unternehmen durchgeführt haben.

 

Ja, Xaver und ich haben zusätzlich zu unseren Hochschulprüfungen an einem Bot-Anwendungsfall gearbeitet und dabei zunächst nicht an ein Start-up, sondern an ein Agenturgeschäft gedacht. Wir waren Ausnahmen an der Universität Maastricht, die das bereits getan haben. Denn das Ziel von 95 Prozent der Menschen war es, bei McKinsey & Co anzufangen, alternativ im Investment Banking oder in einem hochvergüteten Firmenjob. Es gab Fragen wie “Sehen Sie sich mehr im Supply Chain Management oder in der Beratung? Natürlich sind das spannende Themen, aber wir wollten mehr als nur einen Bereich übernehmen und gestalten. Als wir uns dem Abschluss näherten, setzten sich Xaver und ich bei einem Bier zusammen und sagten: “Lass uns etwas anfangen”. Zwei Tage später im Zug lasen wir einen technischen Artikel, in dem Facebook ankündigte: “Wir machen jetzt Bots”. Also suchten wir nach einem nützlichen Anwendungsfall und begannen, e-bot7 parallel zu unseren Prüfungen zu entwickeln. Mit unseren Chatbot-Workshops auf Eventbrite konnten wir unsere laufenden Kosten decken, aber das Wichtigste für uns war der Einblick in die Probleme und Anwendungsfälle in den Kundendienstabteilungen von Unternehmen. Als uns klar war, in welche Richtung unser Produkt gehen sollte, holten wir Max, unseren Mitbegründer und CTO. Er baute die erste Version des Produkts in sehr kurzer Zeit. Niemand sonst hätte es so machen können.

 

“Der Benutzer sollte sich nicht mit der KI befassen müssen.”

 

Was Alex und mich überzeugte, war, wie Sie Ihr Agent+KI Modell aufgebaut haben. Das unterstützt die Mitarbeiter vom ersten Tag an, lernt von ihnen und wird so auch überwacht. Können Sie die Gründe für diesen Ansatz beschreiben?

 

Der Prozess, um die richtige Antwort zu finden, ist in jedem Unternehmen unterschiedlich, ebenso wie die Daten und die Vorbereitungszeit, die ein Unternehmen für die Schulung einer KI benötigt. Unser Produkt kann sowohl im Vorfeld auf Datensätze geschult als auch für einen Kaltstart verwendet werden. Indem das System den Mitarbeitern Antworten vorschlägt und von menschlichen Kollegen korrigiert wird, kann es ohne Fehler lernen. Denn nur wenn der Bot z.B. zu 97 Prozent sicher ist, kann er unabhängig reagieren. Die größere Idee dahinter ist ein Plug & Play. Unsere Plattform lässt sich innerhalb von vier Wochen in jede Unternehmenslandschaft integrieren und kann vom Team im Handumdrehen individuell angepasst werden. Dafür brauche ich überhaupt kein Data-Science-Team oder einen technischen Entwickler. Der Anwender sollte sich nicht mit der KI befassen müssen, sondern die Lösung sofort nutzen können. Da nur sehr wenige Unternehmen auf das Thema Künstliche Intelligenz vorbereitet sind, wollten wir einen Start ohne Vorbereitung ermöglichen.

 

Es gibt auch Unternehmen, die an “Build it yourself” glauben. Sie haben sich immer auf Ihren Plug-and-Play-Ansatz verlassen. Können Sie Ihre Erfahrungen dazu mitteilen?

 

Wir hatten immer Kontakt zu Unternehmen, die es selbst bauen wollten. Aber fast jeder von ihnen rief uns wieder an, nachdem das Projekt mehr oder weniger gegen die Wand gefahren war, weil es nicht so einfach war, wie sie dachten oder weil ihnen die Ressourcen ausgegangen waren. Umgekehrt haben wir anfangs oft gehört: “Das wird nicht passieren, die KI wird sich nicht so schnell entwickeln”. Dann brauchst du jemanden, der an dich glaubt. Unser erster Kunde o2 war so ein Beispiel. Von da an und bis heute sind wir jedem unserer Kunden sehr nahe geblieben. Viele Start-ups sind sehr stark auf sich selbst und ihre Produktvision fokussiert. Wir finden es sehr wichtig, mit Kunden als Partner zusammenzuarbeiten und viel Feedback zu erhalten. Unserer Meinung nach ist dies der einzige Weg, um das beste Produkt auf dem Markt zu entwickeln.

 

“Wir haben ein großes Problem in Deutschland, weil wir keine offenen Datenpools haben.”

 

Könnten Sie skizzieren, wie Sie ihre Vision weiterentwickeln können und was Sie dabei antreibt?

 

In den USA ist eine große Vision unerlässlich, um überhaupt Geld zu bekommen. In Europa werden Sie wahrscheinlich mit großen Zielen gedrosselt. Du musst deine Vision gegen solche Rückschläge verteidigen und einfach weitermachen. Der Punkt ist jedoch, dass man die Vision genau bewerten und so weit reflektieren muss, dass man weiß, ob sie noch stimmig ist. Was die KI betrifft, so steckt Deutschland in einem Modus des Zögerns, nicht nur im Vergleich zu den USA, sondern auch zu China. Leider gibt es für die KI-Entwicklung und die Unternehmen hier eine gewisse Lücke in Bezug auf die Datenverfügbarkeit und die öffentliche Finanzierung. Hier ist noch einiges zu ändern!

 

Sie haben 2018 den Bundesverband für KI mitbegründet. Was sind ihrer Meinung nach die größten Hindernisse bei der KI-Entwicklung und was sind ihre Ziele?

 

In Deutschland haben wir nicht nur zu wenige Start-ups, sondern auch viel zu wenig Mittel aus der Politik und ein großes Problem, weil wir keine offenen Datenbestände haben, die wir für Forschung und Entwicklung benötigen. Wenn ich zum Beispiel eine KI in der Bilderkennung von Krankheiten trainieren möchte, brauche ich eine kritische Anzahl von Bildern. Mit unserem Bot-Produkt benötigen Sie eine kritische Masse an Kundendienst-Tickets, um auch Abweichungen zu berücksichtigen. Die Algorithmen müssen beispielsweise verwirrende Gespräche, Rechtschreibfehler und Fremdwörter wie englische oder türkische Ausdrücke im Deutschen verstehen. Es handelt sich um wertvolle Strukturdaten, anonymisiert, also ohne Namen.

 

Der Bundesverband KI wurde im vergangenen Jahr gegründet, um die KI in Deutschland voranzutreiben. Wir haben jetzt etwa 220 Mitglieder, darunter Start-ups, Datenwissenschaftler und KI-Experten. Bei der Auswahl legen wir großen Wert auf einen konkreten KI-Fokus. Heute tragen viele Produkte ein KI-Label, ohne KI zu nutzen.

 

“Deutschland ist der kostenlose Trainingsplatz für Unternehmen wie Google, Amazon und Facebook.”

 

Erzählen Sie uns von Ihren Erfahrungen mit großen Unternehmen und Konzernen, neben Ihren Kunden. Wie reagieren sie auf das Thema KI?

 

Viele deutsche Unternehmen stecken oft in der Angst, dass die KI Arbeitsplätze streicht. Die meisten mittelständischen Unternehmen haben noch keine anwendbare KI-Strategie. Das Verrückte ist: Deutschland ist teilweise der kostenlose Trainingsplatz für Unternehmen wie Google, Amazon und Facebook. Wir möchten zum Beispiel mehr deutsche Entwickler bei e-bot7 einstellen. Das Problem ist: Viele Studenten, die ein Stipendium, z.B. für Stanford, erhalten, bleiben einfach in den USA und gehen zu Google und Co. Ziel muss es sein, Deutschland und Europa zum führenden KI-Ökosystem zu machen.

 

Die deutsche Gründerszene hat über Sie geschrieben, dass Sie zwischen’Terminator oder Utopie’ aufklären. Wie sehen Sie die Situation zwischen realen Gefahren und der Angst vor dem Fortschritt?

 

Die KI ist in unserem Alltag längst allgegenwärtig, ob Spotify mir etwas vorschlägt oder mein Telefon alle Bilder nach dem Stichwort Café durchsucht. Gleichzeitig sind die Gefahren klar, zum Beispiel durch Überwachung über Gesichtserkennung wie in China oder gefälschte und maskierte Anwendungen wie die FaceApp. In Europa müssen wir Kriterien für Transparenz und Standards bei der Programmierung, der Datendokumentation und all diesen Dingen festlegen. Wir haben zum Beispiel in Europa und Deutschland die Chance, eine “KI Made in Germany” zu etablieren. Was wir voranbringen wollen, sind Unternehmen, die KI für positive Szenarien und nach unseren demokratischen Überzeugungen einsetzen. Aber was ich auf Konferenzen immer wieder sehe, ist, dass sich Horrorszenarien gut verkaufen. Redner nutzen dies aus und machen eine Marke daraus. Was wir jedoch brauchen, ist Klärung und Aufklärung. Oder in anderen Worten, warum wird die KI nicht in der Sesamstraße erklärt?

 

 

Das Interview erschien ursprünglich auf 42Cap / medium