Chatbots will increase sales in retail to $112 billion by 2023

chatbots in retail e-bots cost savings

According to a study by Juniper Research on ‘How AI Can Revive Retail’, chatbot-based interactions are estimated to double retail sales each year from $7.3 billion in 2019 to $112 billion by 2023. At the same time, the number of Chatbots interactions will rise from 2.6 billion this year to 22 billion in 2023 as AI-based chatbots get more advanced.

 

How can Chatbots increase retail sales?

As natural language processing (NLP) advances, Chatbots are able to understand more and more speech input and provide the right answers to customer queries. But the capability of automation does not end here. By using Artificial Intelligence (AI), Chatbots offer great potential to actively approach customers, study customer behaviour and advise them at the right moments.

 

A great advantage of Chatbots is that once all relevant customer queries have been learnt via the knowledge base, Chatbots can offer an around-the-clock-service. If online shops don’t have opening hours, why should their customer service? By answering product and shipping requests 24/7, Chatbots can generate additional hidden sales potential at night or on the weekends, as well as managing incoming traffic during peak periods.

 

Saving costs in retail with AI

Before AI-based Chatbots, customer interactions had to be handled entirely by customer service agents and scaling up service capacity came at a high cost for companies given it is labour intensive. It is also why customer service has historically been one of the first services to be outsourced, despite its importance in building a loyal customer base. With AI, retailers can cut costs by automating more customer interactions through Chatbots. According to Juniper Research, this will save retailers up to $439 billion by 2023. Today, automation through Chatbots saves up to $7 billion in retail.

 

While scalability is considered one of the biggest problems in the sales process, hybrid Chatbots are able to increase their knowledge base at a fast pace whether inquiries are recurrent or highly complex. Chatbots can welcome new customers on the website with personalised messages and follow-up if they leave their shopping cart before checkout. In this respect, Chatbots can also collect valuable meta-data about the customer and give tailored suggestions about products and services based on consumer behaviour. In addition, the use of chatbots would help to free up the time of customer service agents to add further value and devote more time to specialised cases.

 

While findings of the study suggest cost savings and revenue growth for retailers integrating AI, Juniper Research predicts challenges for those that don’t adopt chatbots as part of an extended omnichannel retail experience.

 

Click here for more information on the study.

 

Use AI and increase the efficiency across your organisation

AI solution for automation in banking

Chatbots werden den Umsatz im Einzelhandel bis 2023 um 112 Milliarden US-Dollar steigern

chatbots in retail e-bots cost savings

Laut einer Studie von Juniper Research zu “Wie KI den Einzelhandel wiederbeleben kann” werden Chatbot-basierte Interaktionen den Umsatz im Einzelhandel von 7,3 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2019 auf 112 Milliarden US-Dollar im Jahr 2023 erhöhen. Gleichzeitig wird die Anzahl der Interaktionen mit Chatbots von 2,6 Milliarden im Jahr 2019 auf 22 Milliarden im Jahr 2023 ansteigen, da KI-basierte Chatbots durch die lernenden Algorithmen stetig dazulernen und Tag für Tag komplexere Anliegen lösen können.

 

Wie können Chatbots den Einzelhandelsumsatz steigern?

Mit dem Fortschritt von Natural Language Processing (NLP) können Chatbots immer mehr Spracheingaben verstehen und Kundenanfragen richtig beantworten. Die Fähigkeit von Chatbots Prozesse zu automatisieren hört hier jedoch nicht auf. Durch den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) bieten Chatbots ein großes Potenzial, um aktiv auf Kunden zuzugehen, das Kundenverhalten zu untersuchen und sie zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zu beraten.

 

Ein großer Vorteil von Chatbots ist, dass sie einen 24-Stunden-Service möglich machen, sobald alle relevanten Kundenanfragen in die Wissensdatenbank eingefügt wurden. Durch eine Beantwortung von Produkt- und Versandanfragen rund um die Uhr können Chatbots nachts oder am Wochenende zusätzliches verstecktes Umsatzpotenzial generieren.

 

Kosten im Einzelhandel durch KI sparen

Vor dem Einsatz von KI-basierten Chatbots mussten Kundeninteraktionen ausschließlich von Kundendienstmitarbeitern abgewickelt werden. Der Ausbau der Servicekapazität war für Unternehmen mit hohen Kosten verbunden. Mit KI können Einzelhändler Kosten senken, indem sie mehr Kundeninteraktionen über Chatbots automatisieren. Laut Juniper Research werden die Einzelhändler bis 2023 bis zu 439 Milliarden US-Dollar einsparen. Schon heute spart die Automatisierung durch Chatbots bis zu 7 Milliarden US-Dollar im Einzelhandel.

 

Während die Skalierbarkeit als eines der größten Probleme im Verkaufsprozess angesehen wird, können hybride Chatbots ihre Wissensbasis schnell erweitern, unabhängig davon, ob es sich um wiederkehrende oder hochkomplexe Anfragen handelt. Chatbots können neue Kunden auf der Website mit personalisierten Nachrichten begrüßen und beim Kunden nachfragen, wenn sie ihren Warenkorb vor dem Auschecken verlassen. In dieser Hinsicht können Chatbots auch wertvolle Informationen über den Kunden sammeln und auf der Grundlage des Verbraucherverhaltens maßgeschneiderte Vorschläge zu Produkten und Dienstleistungen geben.

 

Während die Ergebnisse der Studie auf Kosteneinsparungen und ein Umsatzwachstum für Einzelhändler mit integrierter KI hindeuten, prognostiziert Juniper Research Herausforderungen für diejenigen, die Chatbots nicht als erweitertes Omnichannel-Einzelhandelserlebnis einsetzen.

 

Klicken Sie hier für mehr Informationen zur Studie.

 

Nutzen Sie künstliche Intelligenz und steigern Sie die Effizienz in Ihrem Unternehmen

 

eine Ki Lösung für alles